3 Simple Steps to Help Reduce Stress Inflicted Pain

Have you ever experienced pain you cannot describe. Though it wasn’t able to compete with childbirth, it came darned close.  It started three weeks ago when my neck stiffened slowly as I was standing washing dishes. I put down the soapy sponge and pot, rinsed my hands and started to massage my neck really hard. I remember this pain from years ago when I was completing my 6 weeks of catering to 40 – 65 children aging 10 – 15 years old. This was a dance camp where they ate three meals a day and stayed overnight. By the end of six weeks, I could not turn to my left or my right. I went to see a doctor I’ve never gone to before to figure out what the heck was this pain. He told me it was my trapezius muscles that connect from the base of my skull, behind my ears down to my shoulders. Naturally, I wanted to know what caused this excruciating pain. Doc asked me what I do for a living. I chuckled and asked why he asked me this question. He says this pain generally is caused by stress. Ha ha…I chuckle some more.

I no longer cater to camps nor do I cater any events after leaving my job of 12 years. If you’ve read my previous posts, you’d know that I’ve been on a special journey where happiness is the ticket. There is however, this one account that come back each year and asked me to please cater their event. I figured with only 60 people attending, it should be a piece of cake! I pulled it off last year while working in my new job and it was very successful. As I prepped for this event in a workplace that hasn’t been loved since I’ve left, I realized how much needed to be done so the customer doesn’t feel the emptiness this facility leaves you feeling. You guessed it, I did all I could do to make the place fabulous again with some help of course and my trapezius muscles started speaking to me. I kept on going and by the time the event took place, the pain was full-blown but the diners didn’t know it. I still had the magic!

Well, it’s been a week since the event and my neck muscles are getting worse. I actually cried from the pain last night, it was so bad. I’m up every hour the past 2 nights. The truth is my husband is looking to lease a property to open his own golf course this past month and continue to maintain a golf course he’s been managing since 1999. Realistic or not? I’m in total support of this idea he has, and the thought of what’s entailed scares me a bit. I don’t scare easily. I’m actually a risk-taker when it comes to business. So these are the actions I took today…

1. I massaged my neck with lavender essential oil. Lavender oil has natural properties that ease muscle pain.IMG_3409

2. I placed a warm pack on my neck. This is to loosen the muscles then performed some Jen Hilman neck stretches that was so helpful.

th-10

3. I sat in my meditation space and meditated using the Guyan Mudra while inhaling eight short breathes and exhaling 1 full breathe out my mouth. This is a great stress release meditation. This is the GUYAN MUDRA: The tip of the thumb touches the tip of the index finger, stimulating knowledge and ability. The index finger is symbolized by Jupiter, and the thumb represents the ego. Guyan Mudra imparts receptivity & calm.

th-9

What is a mudra? A gesture or position, usually of the hands, that seals energy flow and reflexes to the brain. Certain positions direct energy through specific nadis (energy channels) to affect changes in the body and mind.

These steps are in no way used to replace medical attention.  If you are in need of medical attention please seek it and do not ignore such attention.  These are just some steps I was able to alleviate my pain.

I hope this was helpful to you. If you have ways in which you find to be helpful in reducing stress or neck pain, please share.

You have what it takes to live a life full of balanced energies.

Jennifer

Leave a Reply

